[EF#19] How I Remember Him

So this is my second entry for BEC. And If we talk about the memorable relationship, then mine would be.. my relationship with my father. I call him Bapak..

This was taken during his last hospital days. This was also the last pic I took with Bapak.
This was taken during his last hospital days. This was also the last pic I took with Bapak.

He was always my first love and role model (or superhero, kids these days may refer). Bapakย was a very patient, caring, tender, wise and loving person. And I can say that he was the most of all. The wisest, most patient, caring, tender and loving person I’ve ever known. He sure has set the bar high for man’s qualities. Not that I blame him for that. I am forever grateful for that. ๐Ÿ™‚

So this is how I see my father as:

My first love

Disclaimer: please bear with me. People tend to exaggerate things when they speak about people they love. I may be one of them. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, Bapakย was a very charming and lovable person. I remember, in most of gatherings or social agendas that we attended, he would always be the center of attention. But he didnโ€™t have anything to do with that. That was just the way he was. He attracted people’s eyes and attentions in a good way. With other qualities he had, he was always my first love. I mean, what’s not to love from him?

Not that he was some kind of flawless angel. Of course he wasn’t. It’s just when you deeply fall in love with someone, any flaws of him/hers wonโ€™t matter anymore.

That’s exactly what happened to me.

My role model

I always look up to him since I was little. For he led by example. He taught me about discipline, responsibility and hard work. And all my life, I can see those things were always in his blood. Speaking about hard work, he was a civil servant during the day and a lecturer during the night. He also showed me that learning is a lifetime process. He got his post graduate degree when he was almost 60 when his eyesight had worsened.

Just like any other relationship, ours had its ups and downs too. As years go by, I may can not recall most of the memories of him with me, or what exact things he did or said to me. But ย I will always be sure that what I can remember of my relationship with Bapak is that with him, I feel so loved, cared, and precious. Because that what Bapak also means to me: love, caring and precious.

I miss you, Bapak. But you are in a better place now..

โ€œI’ve learned that people will forget whatย youย said, people will forget whatย youย did, but people will never forget howย you made them feel.โ€ โ€• Maya Angelou

3 thoughts on “[EF#19] How I Remember Him

Leave a Reply

